Taqueria El Charro Tapatio Review

DSC00513Taqueria El Charro Tapatio // 311 E Hopkins St. San Marcos, TX 78666 // April 8, 2017 @3:45 P.M.

Taqueria El Charro Tapatio is a restaurant that my family and I visit every time they’re in town. Usually, I order a carne asada burrito with guacamole inside and boy, is it good! But today I went for the tacos. Now, I know usually I cover the basic potato and bacon taco with salsa verde, but I missed breakfast time here (they don’t serve breakfast all day unfortunately so I had to buy lunch tacos which is no big deal) so I had to go with the barbacoa taco and the al pastor taco. The great thing about this blog will share with you two different types of tacos, so here we go.

I usually refrain from ordering barbacoa tacos because of the fat that usually comes with the barbacoa tacos. Sure enough, I should’ve stuff with my gut on this one, and the barbacoa was flavorless. Not even the added cilantro and onions with the salsa verde could make it any more flavorful. Maybe some salt needed to be added in which I did not add, but it could’ve helped. Overall, I wouldn’t recommend ordering this taco.

The second taco I ordered was pastor which is seasoned pork. The meat was very flavorful and I made sure to ensure it was my last bite. The meat tasted as if it was seasoned with fajita seasoning and the hint of lime I splashed upon it was what made it over the top. The salsa verde only added to this one, it wasn’t “needed” at all. The tortillas were not homemade, but nonetheless warm and delicious.

The cost of the two tacos we’re $5.50 for each, so a bit pricier than the local Exxon or food trailers, but then again, you may be paying for the service and environment in which you’re in. If you go beware of the salsa verde; they make it out of habaneros and jalapenos. Overall, while the tacos were ones that I’d recommend, I think I’ll stick to ordering the burrito when coming here.


Leave a comment